The future of seafood: how can we feed the world? an upcoming webinar from WOI

Food security is one of the biggest concerns the world faces. Fish currently provide essential protein for around 1bn people. But the ocean could provide over six times more food than it does today. However, global fisheries are under threat. While climate change is forcing fish species to shift geographically, the coronavirus pandemic is adding temporary disruption to the industry.

The Economist Group’s World Ocean Initiative and Calysta invite you to join us for the second virtual panel discussion in its series on Thursday, May 28th at 6am PST / 2pm BST / 3pm CET / 9am EDT to address the following questions: 

Will the seafood industry return to “business as usual” when pandemic-related restrictions ease?
How can the world feed a growing population in a more sustainable way
How can progress on tackling overfishing, IUU fishing and subsidies be accelerated?
What are the main challenges for sustainable aquaculture and how can they be overcome?
How does the investment community assess the outlook for sustainable seafood?

Further information and registration:
https://www.woi.economist.com/webinar-the-future-of-seafood-how-can-we-feed-the-world/?utm_source=EM1707W2_Email_edm3a&RefID=EM1707W2_Email_edm3a
Registering for the first webinar gives you access to all the webinars in the World Ocean Summit Insight Hour series. We will send you instructions in advance of each webinar.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *