previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Latest News

Hatch 4.0 accelerator is open for innovators who can bring sustainability to aquaculture

May 22, 2020
Hatch is inviting startups to apply for the fourth cohort of its aquaculture-focused accelerator program. Written by: Hatch 4.0 / Agfundernews.com It’s looking for eight to 10 companies from anywhere in the world, at seed or pre-seed stage, to join the...
Read More

“Big-brained minnows of tomorrow could face cognitive challenges in warmer waters”, University of Glasgow research

May 22, 2020
Climate change could leave freshwater fish with bigger brains but a reduced ability to effectively explore their surroundings, scientists have found.  Information source: University of Glasgow / press release In order to survive, the world’s aquatic life will need to...
Read More

The future of seafood: how can we feed the world? an upcoming webinar from WOI

May 22, 2020
Food security is one of the biggest concerns the world faces. Fish currently provide essential protein for around 1bn people. But the ocean could provide over six times more food than it does today. However, global fisheries are under threat....
Read More

Bühler Virtual World continues for all of May

May 22, 2020
Due to the positive response and over-subscription of virtual meetings, Bühler has decided to keep the Bühler Virtual World open at least until the end of May. Over the three days, more than 12,000 people from 132 countries visited the digital platform, around 500 private meetings are ongoing. “We are amazed by...
Read More

Aquaculture Europe 2020 will not take place this year, but EAS will organize events in both Cork and Madeira in 2021

May 22, 2020
The EAS Board of Directors have decided that our Aquaculture Europe 2020 event cannot go ahead as planned in Cork from September 29 to October 2 this year. There will therefore be no Aquaculture Europe event this year. Information source:...
Read More

“Waste Reduction and the Circular Economy in the Seafood Industry”, upcoming Friend of the Sea webinar

May 14, 2020
This webinar will take place on 20th of May 2020 at 03:00 pm, CET +1 (06:00 am San Francisco; 09:00 am in New York; 02:00 pm in London; 03:00 pm in Johannesburg; 08:00 pm in Bangkok; 09:00 pm in Hong Kong; 23:00 pm...
Read More

Florida to Receive $23 Million in Aquaculture and Fisheries Assistance via CARES Act Stimulus

May 14, 2020
The U.S. Department of Commerce has announced the allocation of $300 million in federal assistance for fisheries provided by the CARES Act stimulus package. These funds will be available for coastal and marine fishery participants negatively affected by COVID–19. Florida will receive $23.6 million of this funding...
Read More

“Evaluating compensatory growth in Pacific white shrimp in a biofloc system”, recent GAA publication

May 14, 2020
Results show partial and complete growth recovery after temperature, feed challenge Written by: Elisa Prates, Dr. Mariana Holanda and Dr. Wilson Wasielesky Junior / Global Aquaculture Alliance website One of the potential management measures to improve shrimp production is the...
Read More

Increased Visibility for Certified Aquaculture

May 14, 2020
In a new partnership to promote sustainability in the worldwide seafood industry, GLOBALG.A.P. has joined FishChoice.com as a Seafood Sustainability Certification Partner. The move increases access to GLOBALG.A.P. certified products to the thousands of companies using FishChoice.com to inform and improve their...
Read More